Moving winch post back and forth

A forum about Trailering, Launching and Retrieving the Telstar.
BoarX

Moving winch post back and forth

Post by BoarX »

Hello all,

As a new owner of 2009 Telstar 28, I am sort of baffled by the requirement to move the winch post (and the jack!) of the Venture trailer forward one foot for the boat retrieval and moving it back for towing. I have some experience launching and retrieving boats, but I have never come across such a strange issue. It seems to me this is the result of the winch post not being tall enough, am I correct? Looks like moving the winch attachment point higher would be equivalent to shifting the post forward, no? Looks like to be retrieved properly the boat needs some extra upward pull on the bow line and both geometries should provide that. Have anyone attempted to rectify this with some modification to allow the boat to be pulled in "in one go" - i.e., into the right position on the trailer with the main hull bow already snug against the winch post roller?

Thanks,
Alex
West Lafayette, IN
2009 Telstar 28 Unicorn
Sail #383 (hull?)
Member of Clinton Lake Sailing Association
Ron

Re: Moving winch post back and forth

Post by Ron »

The angle of the floating boat and the trailer sitting on the bottom is the cause. I've had other boats which were similar but not as much. One of the reasons is the weight and flotation of the folded trimaran. It's sitting higher in the water, hence the angle is greater. It's also sitting higher on the trailer when loaded than most, which are sitting in the trailer. Add a few degrees for that as well.

A taller post may help a drop, but you'd be lifting the bow up out of the water to accomplish this. That could cause some damage to the eye and surrounding fiberglass.
Ron Marcuse
Telstar 28 #359 "Tri-Power"
BoarX

Post by BoarX »