Oil change on the water

Posts about mechanical systems on a Telstar, including the outboard engine.
drsm

Oil change on the water

Post by drsm »

Anyone have a great technique for changing oil while on the water? Since I'm on a mooring, I'm looking for suggestions. I thought of placing a plastic garbage bag under the motor, then lowering it, so the motor is essentially contained in the bag. That should catch any spills, then drain the oil into a small bucket held within the bag.

Any thoughts?

Steve
Ron

Oil change on the water

Post by Ron »

Steve -

Several companies make a vacuum based oil extractor where you can stick a skinny tube down either the oil fill or dip-stick hole, then suck the warm oil out by either electric motor or a bicycle type of air pump (to create a vacuum in the device). I've been doing this for many years, but have not tried it out on a Honda outboard yet. It should work - especially thru the dip-stick hole. It's the only way to get the oil out of an inboard boat motor which is installed near the bottom of the hull - although many of them have a rubber tube installed at the oil drain, so you just attach the vacuum can to that tube.

If you pass by a Honda Marine dealer, you may want to pick up a few O-rings and a spare metric drain / fill bolt. The boat has 3 of them - one for the engine oil drain, and two for the lower unit fill and drain. These small bolts have to be torqued fairly high for a screw driver and it is very easy to destroy the head of the screw. You'll need a big screwdriver as well, with a lot of vertical pressure on the slot to keep the driver from jumping out and damaging the screw head. The idiots should have used a 5 point torx type of screw for this. Use a new O-ring when you replace the screw. You won't have to do this if you suck the engine oil out, but that still leaves the lower unit. I think I have 3 or 4 spare drain screws and a dozen O-rings on board - just in case.